Windsor Museum Has Re-Opened!
Temporary hours are Friday, Saturday & Sunday, from 11:00 to 2:00
We are available for research and visits by appointment at 707-838-4563 or email at [email protected]
The Windsor Historical Society’s Museum is located in the historic “Hembree House”, situated across the street from a majestic row of Cypress trees at 9225 Foxwood Drive. The trees once lined the driveway to the Cunningham Ranch and were planted by Clara Hembree’s father, James McClelland, on the occasion of her birth in 1872. Clara Hembree’s grandfather, Robert Cunningham settled the homestead in the early 1850s. The property eventually passed to his granddaughters, Clara and Ella.
Clara and Dr. Atlas Hembree built their Spanish style retirement home in 1931 on the family ranch. The property had remained in the family for over 100 years when, after the death of Mrs. Hembree, the homestead was sold to the William Matson Roth family. It was then sold to the Mabry family who established the Landmark Winery. As the town of Windsor grew and residential property squeezed the vineyards, the winery moved and the Hembree House was purchase by the Windsor Water district and eventually the Town of Windsor.
The museum opened in February of 2009 and features exhibits on the people and events that shaped the Windsor’s history. Among the permanent exhibits is the heroic story of Fred Wiseman who built the first all California airplane, taught himself to fly and then delivered the world’s first airmail! Another exhibit tells the story of German Prisoners of War that spent some of World War II in camps in California, including one in Windsor!
In a dedicated gallery is the work of rancher, inventor, horseshoe champion and artist, George Greeott. Mr. Greeott has lived on his ranch near Windsor since 1928 and besides his stunning iron spike figures and beautiful wood carvings has also gathered a large collection of historic items from his family’s past.